PH extends travel ban on 10 countries until end-August

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, August 13) — The Philippine government on Friday extended the travel restrictions on 10 countries for 15 more days due to the growing threat of the more transmissible Delta variant.

Inter-Agency Task Force spokesperson Harry Roque said the travel ban on India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, United Arab Emirates, Oman, Thailand, Malaysia and Indonesia will be in place until Aug. 31.

The ban was supposed to lapse on July 31, but the government has issued several extensions.

The country has detected at least 627 cases of the Delta variant.

Meanwhile, the IATF updated the list of "green" countries and territories aimed at identifying testing and quarantine rules for fully vaccinated travelers.

These include Albania, American Samoa, Anguilla, Australia, Benin, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Chad, China, Comoros, Cote d' Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Falkland Islands, Gabon, Grenada, Hong Kong (Special Administrative Region of China), Hungary, Mali, Federated States of Micronesia, Montserrat (British Overseas Territory), New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niger, Nigeria, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Poland, Romania, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Slovakia, Sudan, and Taiwan.

Individuals who completed their vaccination abroad and stayed exclusively within these states 14 days prior to their arrival will be allowed a shorter, seven-day facility-based quarantine.

Travelers have to undergo another COVID-19 test during their fifth day of quarantine. They will be strictly monitored under quarantine and will be asked to self-monitor for another week.