LIST: Media personalities vying for elective posts in 2022

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines) - A number of media personalities are seeking elective posts at stake in the 2022 general elections.

Among them is broadcaster Raffy Tulfo, who filed his certificate of candidacy (COC) on Oct. 2 to run as an independent candidate for senator.

He said he turned down offers from the groups of presidential hopefuls Ping Lacson and Manny Pacquiao, among others, to join their Senate slates.

“Hindi lang sa Lacson group ang kinausap ako, maging sa Pacquiao group at marami pang iba…Magalang ko silang tinanggihan dahil gusto kong maging independent, dahil gusto ko ang loyalty ko ay sa taumbayan ay hindi kung kani-kaninong partido,” he said during his speech after he filed his COC at the Harbor Garden Tent of Hotel Sofitel in Pasay City.

[Translation: Members of the Lacson group were not the only ones who talked to me, those from Pacquiao group, too, and many others. I politely declined their offers because I want to be an independent candidate. I want my loyalty to be with the Filipino people, and not any political party.]

But he added he is open to being a “guest candidate” of a political party that promotes his advocacies.

Action star Robin Padilla and seasoned broadcaster Rey Langit also filed their respective COCs for senator on Oct. 8. The two will run under ruling PDP-Laban party.

This will be Padilla's first foray into politics while Langit ran but lost in the 1998 and 2010 senatorial elections.

RELATED: Robin Padilla, Rey Langit join 2022 Senate race

Former vice president and veteran news personality Noli de Castro is seeking a political comeback after filing his COC for senator. He is running under Aksyon Demokratiko, the party led by presidential aspirant and Manila Mayor Isko Moreno.

RELATED: Noli De Castro eyes return to Senate under Moreno’s slate

On Oct. 4, celebrity chef Boy Logro, who seeks a House seat, filed his certificate of nomination and acceptance under the Aangat Kusinerong Pinoy party-list.

Female media personalities Nora Aunor, Karla Estrada, Shamcey Supsup, Mocha Uson, and Michele Gumabao also filed their certificates of nomination and acceptance for their respective party-list groups.

RELATED: Actresses, beauty queens join 2022 party-list race

Meanwhile, the following public figures announced on social media they filed their COCs for local posts:

-Actor Ejay Falcon (vice-governor of Oriental Mindoro)

-Actor Jason Abalos (board member of Second District of Nueva Ecija)

-Actor Javi Benitez (mayor of Victorias City, Negros Occidental)

-TV host, actor, and dancer Jhong Hilario (councilor of Makati City’s First District for a second term)

- Celebrity Annalie "Ali" Forbes (councilor of Quezon City's District 6)

- Actor Ervic Vijandre (councilor of San Juan City's First District)

- Actress Claudine Claudine Barretto (councilor of Olongapo City)

- Actor Rommel Padilla (representative of Nueva Ecija's First District)

- Actor Jolo Revilla (representative of Cavite's First District)

- Actress Lani Mercado-Revilla (representative of Cavite's Second District)

- Actor Raymond Bagatsing (vice mayor of Manila)

- Actor Arjo Atayde (representative of Quezon City's First District)