Cayetano, allies to form new bloc 'BTS sa Kongreso'

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, January 12) - Former Speaker Alan Peter Cayetano and six of his allies will be forming a new bloc in Congress, named after a famous South Korean boy band.

Cayetano, along with Camarines Sur Rep. LRay Villafuerte, Laguna Rep. Dan Fernandez, Batangas Rep. Ranie Abu, Anakalusugan's Mike Defensor, Bulacan Rep. Kuya Sy-Alvarado, and Capiz Rep. Fred Castro, will be introducing themselves as "BTS sa Kongreso", he informed the media.

Members of the group individually held top positions in the House of Representatives under Cayetano's leadership before they were removed by incumbent Speaker Lord Allan Velasco. They are expected to explain their name and formally launch their group on Thursday.

BTS, an acronym for Bangtan Sonyeondan (방탄소년단), which translates to 'bullet proof boy scouts', is a world-renowned music group based in South Korea, with seven male members: RM, Jin, SUGA, J-Hope, Jimin, V, and Jungkook. They are most known for their songs such as 'Dynamite', 'DNA', 'Fake Love', and 'Mic Drop'.