Liberal Party reveals 2016 senatorial slate

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines) — The Liberal Party (LP) announced its senatorial slate for next year's elections on Monday (October 12).

Administration presidential bet Manuel "Mar" Roxas II and his running mate Maria Leonor "Leni" Gerona Robredo led the announcement of LP's senatorial lineup called "Koalisyon ng Daang Matuwid."

Of the 12 candidates, five are LP members, while seven are coalition partners.

Below are the names of the candidates on LP senatorial slate:

1. Franklin Drilon

Drilon is the current Senate president. He was appointed executive secretary of the Cabinet in 1991.

2. Joel Villanueva

Villanueva was appointed as the director-general of Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) in 2010.

3. Panfilo "Ping" Lacson

Lacson was the Philippine National Police (PNP) chief from 1999 to 2001. He served as senator from 2001 to 2013. After Typhoon Yolanda in November 2013, he was appointed as presidential assistant for rehabilitation and recovery.

4. Ralph Recto

Recto was elected to the Senate in 2001. He is currently the Senate president pro tempore. In 2008, he was named as the director-general of NEDA.

5. Teofisto "TG" Guingona III

Guingona was elected into office in 2010. He is currently the chairperson of the Senate Blue Ribbon Committee.

6. Leila de Lima

De Lima was appointed secretary of the Department of Justice in June 2010. She served as Commission on Human Rights chairperson from 2008 to 2010.

7. Francis "Kiko" Pangilinan

Pangilinan was a senator from 2001 to 2013. He was Senate majority leader from 2004-2008. In 2014, he was appointed presidential assistant for food security and agricultural modernization.

8. Jericho Petilla

Petilla served as secretary of the Department of Energy from 2012 to early 2015. He was Leyte governor for three straight terms, starting in 2004.

9. Mark Lapid

Lapid was the governor of Pampanga from 2004 to 2007. Lapid was appointed as chief operating officer of the Tourism Infrastructure and Enterprise Zone Authority.

10. Cresente Paez

Paez is a COOP NATCCO party-list representative.

11. Risa Hontiveros

Hontiveros served as AKBAYAN party-list representative from 2004 to 2010. She was appointed PhilHealth director in June 2015.

12. Nariman Ambolodto

Ambolodto is currently the DILG assistant secretary of Muslim affairs and special concerns.

Roxas also bared that Speaker Feliciano "Sonny" Belmonte Jr. is the Liberal Party's general campaign manager and Rep. Egay Erice is the LP spokesperson.