Caloy Loyzaga to be inducted into FIBA Hall of Fame

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

(CNN Philippines, June 2) — Caloy Loyzaga, widely regarded as the greatest player the Philippines has ever produced, is set to be inducted into the FIBA Hall of Fame Class of 2023, the governing body for basketball announced Friday.

The inductees will be honored in a ceremony in Manila on August 23, two days before the start of the 2023 FIBA Basketball World Cup.

Loyzaga, a Mythical Team member, led the Philippines to a bronze medal finish in the 1954 World Cup. He also won four gold medals at the Asian Games.

He died at the age of 85 in 2016.

Loyzaga will be joined by several basketball personalities, including Chinese superstar Yao Ming in the Class of 2023.

Here's the full list of inductees that make up this year's FIBA Hall of Fame:


Amaya Valdemoro (Spain)

Yuko Oga (Japan)

Penny Taylor (Australia)

Katrina McClain (USA)

Wlamir Marques (Brazil)

Yao Ming (China)

Liem Tjien Siong / Sonny Hendrawan (Indonesia)

Angelo Monteiro dos Santos Victoriano (Angola)

Carlos Loyzaga (Philippines - posthumously)

Zurab Sakandelidze (Georgia - posthumously)


Valerie Garnier (France)

Alessandro Gamba (Italy)