Lani Velasco gets fresh term as PH swimming federation chief

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, April 18) – Lani Velasco was re-elected as chairman and president of Philippine Swimming Inc. (PSI) for the next four years in the recent national swimming federation’s congress.

In her speech at the New Coast Hotel in Manila, Velasco vowed to have a “healthy” participation in all of the five aquatics disciplines and to send more Filipino swimmers in international tournaments, especially the 2024 Paris Olympics.

“We want to see more of our athletes qualify in various meets abroad, especially the Olympics,” said Velasco, whose leadership is backed the International Swimming Federation and the Asia Swimming Federation.

The five events in aquatics are swimming, water polo, diving, open water, and artistic swimming.

Under Velasco’s leadership, the country sent two swimmers – Luke Gebbie and Remedy Rule – to the Tokyo Olympics.

During the 30th Southeast Asian Games held at the New Clark City Aquatics Center in Capas, Tarlac in 2019, James Deiparine ended the country’s decade-long gold medal drought in the biennial sports event after ruling the 100-meter breaststroke event.

Velasco expressed hope that the Philippine swimming team would surpass the one gold-six silvers-three bronzes medal haul in 2019 in the upcoming 31st SEA Games in Hanoi, Vietnam next month.

RELATED: Olympians Alkhaldi, Gebbie to lead PH swimmers in Vietnam SEA Games 

Also elected to their respective positions in the recent PSI congress were Antoinette Mendoza as secretary, Vero Paloma as treasurer, and Edgardo Lora, Conreylito Dalisay, Sherwyn Santiago, Jefferson Lao, Roberto Tan and Lea Antig as members of the board of trustees.

Philippine Olympic Committee officials attended the polls.