UAAP: NU Lady Bulldogs complete season sweep to win first volleyball title in 65 years

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

NU has joined La Salle and Ateneo as the only schools to sweep an entire season in the Final Four era of the UAAP. (Photo from UAAP)

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, June 21) — The National University (NU) Lady Bulldogs are the queens of UAAP volleyball for the first time since 1957, or some 65 years ago.

The Lady Bulldogs captured the Season 84 crown Tuesday at the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City, after reasserting their mastery of the De La Salle University Lady Spikers in Game 2 of the finals — with a sweep: 25-15, 25-15, 25-22.

Newly minted Rookie of the Year and Season 84 Most Valuable Player (MVP) Bella Belen powered NU's with 16 points.

National University's team captain Cess Robles was hailed the Finals MVP.

The Lady Spikers were off to a good start in the opening set, but a 12-3 run by the Lady Bulldogs carried them to draw first blood and set the tone for a grand sweep.

It was a blowout again in the second frame as NU kept La Salle at bay to establish a commanding 2-0 lead.

The Lady Bulldogs clawed their way back from a 20-17 deficit in the third set by scoring seven straight points and eventually sealing the victory.

NU joined De La Salle University and Ateneo de Manila University as the only schools to sweep an entire season in the Final Four era of the UAAP. La Salle did it in Season 67 while Ateneo repeated the feat a decade later in Season 77.