FIBA World Cup: Guiao names six shoo-ins for 'Gilas 12'

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, August 21) — Philippine national men's basketball team head coach Yeng Guiao has revealed six of the 12 players who will represent the country in the upcoming FIBA World Cup.

Out of the six players, four have represented the Philippines in the previous World Cup held in Spain back in 2014. They are naturalized big man Andray Blatche, San Miguel's June Mar Fajardo, Barangay Ginebra's Japeth Aguilar and Rain or Shine's Gabe Norwood.

TNT KaTropa forwards RR Pogoy and Troy Rosario were named as the other two players.

Pogoy, Rosario and Fajardo all played in the recently concluded PBA Commissioner's Cup.

"Kaya natin sila hinintay. The reason why I was a bit worried, kasi yung finals. Sabi ko sana huwag ma-injured, alam kong mapapagod," Guiao told CNN Philippines.

Other players named as part of the 19-man pool by the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP) back in July are Raymond Almazan, Mark Barroca, Beau Belga, Robert Bolick, Jordan Clarkson, JP Erram, Marcio Lassiter, Paul Lee, Stanley Pringle, Kiefer Ravena, Christian Standhardinger, Matthew Wright and CJ Perez.

Guiao is expected to submit the final roster that will compete in the World Cup after playing Australian club team Adelaide 36ers in a series of tuneup games in Manila.

The FIBA World Cup will run from August 31 to September 15 in China.

Gilas, seeded 31st in the world, will play against 2016 Olympic silver medalist Serbia, 13th ranked Italy, and 39th ranked Angola in Group D.