Iloilo province, three cities under strictest lockdown for rest of July

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, July 16) — Iloilo province and cities Iloilo and Cagayan de Oro have been placed under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) until July 31, Presidential and IATF Spokesperson Harry Roque announced Friday.

Prior to the announcement, Iloilo Province and Iloilo City were under modified ECQ until July 22.

Cagayan de Oro was also initially under MECQ until the end of July.

“The City of Gingoog in the province of Misamis Oriental is likewise placed under ECQ until the end of the month,” added Roque.

The spokesman also announced the extension of Antique’s general community quarantine with “heightened restrictions” status from July 22 to July 31.

Misamis Oriental, meanwhile, was placed under GCQ with “heightened restrictions” until the end of the month instead of modified GCQ.

“The reclassification was made upon the recommendations of the Department of Health, its Technical Advisory Group, and the Technical Working Group on COVID-19 Variants,” said Roque.

Roque first announced on Thursday the new quarantine classifications for the rest of July.

In a separate statement, Roque said the national government - through the Department of Social Welfare and Development - will provide augmentation support to LGUs affected by the new quarantine classifications.

"At present, the DSWD Field Office 6 is coordinating with the LGUs to determine how many families within the ECQ areas are affected and are eligible to receive aid from the Assistance to Individuals in Crisis Situation," Roque said.