LRT-1, LRT2, MRT-3 to offer free rides on Independence Day

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, June 10) — Commuters can ride the LRT-1, LRT-2 and MRT-3 for free on certain hours on June 12 in commemoration of Philippine Independence Day.

In separate advisories, operators announced that the free rides will be from 7 a.m. to 9 a.m. and from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m.

Light Rail Manila Corporation, the operator of LRT-1, said the first trips at the Baclaran and Roosevelt stations will be at 4:30 a.m.

It added that Baclaran Station will serve passengers until 9:30 p.m. while Roosevelt Station is open until 9:45 p.m.

Meanwhile, Light Rail Transit Authority, the operator of LRT-2, said the first train at Recto and Antipolo Stations will leave at 5 a.m.

It added that the last train at the Antipolo Station will depart at 9 p.m., while the Recto Station will be open until 9:30 p.m.

"Ang libreng sakay ay simpleng paraan ng MRT-3 at DOTr upang makiisa sa paggunita sa ika-125 na anibersaryo ng araw ng pagkamit ng kasarinlan ng bansa, at pag-alaala sa sakripisyo ng ating mga bayani," MRT-3 officer-in-charge Jorjette Aquino said in a statement.

[Translation: The free MRT-3 ride is a way of commemorating the 12th anniversary of the country’s independence and the sacrifices of our heroes.]

June 12 marks the country’s 125th Independence Day.

Independence Day is considered a regular holiday under R.A. 4166.