Coin tosses settle ties in multiple BSKE results

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, October 31) — Election officials used an old-school technique of settling disputes – a coin toss after multiple races in the barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan Elections (BSKE) resulted in ties.

In San Jose, Pasig City, Barangay Board of Canvassers (BBOC) Chairman Dindo Vicente tossed a P20-coin to break the tie between DJ Winio and Ramon Monching Bernardo, candidates for the 7th place position of barangay kagawad.

Bernardo picked heads while Winio picked tails, then the two shook hands before the tossing of the coin. Bernardo was announced winner as the head of the coin was shown on the floor.

"Lahat excited, this is the legal way and nakakatuwa na silang dalawa parang sports naman," Vicente said. "They accepted it. [Everyone was excited, and this is the legal way. It's good to see that both candidates showed good sports behavior.]

The Omnibus Election Code stated that "drawing lots" can be used as a solution for tied results in a barangay election. The coin tossing is one of the ways of drawing lots.

The same scenario was witnessed in other barangays as results of the Oct. 30 polls start to be finalized.

In San Guillermo in San Marcelino, Zambales, candidates for the SK chairmanship flipped a coin after they received the same number of votes.

The toss was won by Jenelyn Dalit, the current SK chair. Her rival, Jemima Gongora, said she accepted the outcome.

A coin toss also settled who will become the barangay chairman of Rosary Heights 3 in Cotabato City after Omar Pasawilan and Sukarno Utto both got 997 votes.

The toss, which went through five sets, determined Pasawilan as the winner, according to local reports.

A similar situation also occurred in the BSKE races in other barangays including Brgy. 668, Manila; Brgy. 7, Casiguran, Aurora; and Brgy. San Sebastian, Lipa, Batangas.

The total number of electoral contests decided by coin flips has not yet been disclosed by the Commission on Elections.