DOTr sets up timers at 13 EDSA busway stations

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, September 24) — The Department of Transportation (DOTr) Road Sector on Friday installed bus timers at 13 busway stations at EDSA.

The bus timers, which were placed with the help of the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA), have been in operation since Wednesday.

“Ang pagkakabit ng mga bus timer ay naglalayon na mapadali at mas maisaayos ang sistema ng pagsakay at pagbaba ng mga pasahero sa EDSA Busway,” the DOTr said in a statement.

[Translation: Installing bus timers aims to ease and organize the passengers’ loading and unloading systems at the EDSA busway.]

According to the DOTr, each bus timer has three aspect signal lanterns, each of which has a two-digit timer, a pole, and lighting.

The timers also contain a local traffic signal controller with detector cards and loop detectors, it also said.

There will be a 30-second time limit on each bus unit that picks up and drops off passengers at the stations. The timer will instantly reset when the next bus pulls up, it added.

The bus timers were installed in the following stations:

- Monumento MCU

- Bagong Barrio

- Balintawak

- Muñoz

- North MRT Station

- Quezon Avenue MRT Station

- Q-Mart

- Main Ave

- Ortigas MRT

- Guadalupe MRT

- Buendia

- Taft Ave

- Roxas Blvd.

The DOTr earlier said it will increase the number of EDSA Carousel buses to help ease traffic congestion in Metro Manila. 

In August, the Department of Budget and Management released over ₱1 billion to fund free rides along the busway until the year's end.