CA bypasses Duterte's appointments in Comelec, COA, CSC

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10


Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, June 1)— Five officials appointed by outgoing President Rodrigo Duterte to the top posts in the Commission on Elections, Civil Service Commission, and Commission on Audit have failed to secure the approval of the Commission on Appointments due to lack of hearing quorum on the last session day of the 18th Congress.

The non-confirmation of the ad interim appointments of Comelec Chairperson Saidamen Pangarungan, Comelec Commissioners George Garcia and Aimee Neri, CSC Chairperson Karlo Nograles, and COA Chairperson Rizalina Justol means they have been bypassed and they have to vacate their posts within the week. This means President-elect Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos Jr. can make his own appointments once he takes office on June 30.

Senate Majority Leader Migz Zubiri said the lawmakers received a request from the incoming Marcos administration to give them the "courtesy" to make the appointments.

Incoming press secretary Trixie Cruz-Angeles said there is no information yet whether Marcos is keen on reappointing the officials bypassed by CA, but she said they are appreciative of the gesture that the President-elect's choices were taken into consideration.

Justol was appointed in February, while Nograles left his post as presidential spokesperson in March to be named CSC chair. Meanwhile, Pangarungan, Garcia, and Neri were all appointed on March 8 to take on the gargantuan task of holding the recently concluded national elections.

Pangarungan said he accepts and respects the actions of the CA, but believes he "would have been confirmed [h]ad there been a quorum."

Garcia, for his part, said he will accept the offer if Marcos reappoints him to the poll body.

CNN Philippines correspondent Melissa Lopez contributed to this report.