Metro Manila to stay under Alert Level 1 until June 15

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, May 27) — The National Capital Region will remain under the laxest alert level until mid-June, the Palace announced Friday.

Acting deputy presidential spokesperson Kris Ablan said NCR is among the areas that will be under Alert Level 1 from June 1 to 15.

Most parts of the country will also be under this classification until the first half of June. These areas are as follows:

CAR: Abra, Apayao, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Baguio City

Region 1: Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan, Dagupan City

Region 2: Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, City of Santiago

Region 3: Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac, Zambales, Angeles City, Olongapo City

Region 4-A: Batangas, Cavite, Laguna, Rizal, Lucena City

Region 4-B: Marinduque, Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, Puerto Princesa City

Region 5: Albay, Catanduanes, Naga City

Region 6: Aklan, Capiz, Guimaras, Iloilo, Bacolod City, Iloilo City

Region 7: Siquijor, Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City

Region 8: Biliran, Eastern Samar, Southern Leyte, Ormoc City, Tacloban City

Region 9: Zamboanga City

Region 10: Bukidnon, Camiguin, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro City, Iligan City

Region 11: Davao City, Davao Oriental

CARAGA: Surigao del Sur, Butuan City

The ff. component cities and municipalities have also been placed under the said alert level:

Region 4B: Looc, Occidental Mindoro

Region 5: Pamplona, Camarines Sur; Mandaon, Masbate

Region 8: Villaba, Leyte

Region 9: Salug, Zamboanga del Norte; Lapuyan, Zamboanga del Sur

Region 11: Nabunturan, Davao de Oro; New Bataan, Davao de Oro

CARAGA: San Francisco, Agusan del Sur; Dinagat, Dinagat Islands; Mainit, Surigao del Norte

Areas under Alert Level 2

Meanwhile, the ff. shall be under the stricter Alert Level 2 during the first half of June:

CAR: Benguet, Ifugao

Region 4A: Quezon Province

Region 4B: Occidental Mindoro, Palawan

Region 5: Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Masbate, Sorsogon

Region 6: Antique, Negros Occidental

Region 8: Leyte, Northern Samar, Western Samar

Region 9: City of Isabela, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga Sibugay

Region 10: Lanao del Norte

Region 11: General Santos City, North Cotabato, Sarangani, Sultan Kudarat, South Cotabato

BARMM: Basilan, Cotabato City, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu, Tawi-tawi

Both the Department of Health and OCTA Research warned of an uptick in Metro Manila's COVID-19 cases. However, the region is still considered "low risk." 

The DOH has likewise detected the highly transmissible Omicron BA.4 subvariant in the Philippines last weekend.