Tubaran, Lanao del Sur holds special elections

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, May 24) — Several barangays in Tubaran, Lanao del Sur are holding special elections on Tuesday after failure of elections was declared due to poll-related violence on May 9.

Commission on Elections Commissioner George Garcia said all 12 barangays and 15 clustered precincts in Tubaran opened and functioned without a glitch as of 9 a.m.

Police personnel and soldiers have been on full alert starting this week to ensure peace and order. The Philippine National Police said there were sightings of armed men believed to be supporters of mayoralty candidates days leading up to the special elections.

Tubaran, which has a history of election-related violence, has been placed under Comelec control since March.

On May 11, the poll body declared failure of elections in 12 barangays in Tubaran namely Tangcal, Datumanong, Guiarong, Baguiangun, Wago, Malaganding, Gadongan, Riantaran, Pagalamatan, Mindamunag, Paigoday-pimbataan and Metadicop.

The proclamation of winning party-lists was delayed pending results from Tubaran.

Garcia earlier said they will issue a resolution correcting the poll body's previous announcement that there was also failure of elections in the municipalities of Binidayan and Butig.