Newbies, reelectionists, returnees top 2022 senatorial elections

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, May 18)— Fresh faces and veteran lawmakers make up the "Magic 12" in the 2022 senatorial elections.

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) on Wednesday formally proclaimed the 12 senatorial candidates who received the highest number of votes in the recently concluded national polls.

They are:

1. Robin Padilla

2. Loren Legarda

3. Raffy Tulfo

4. Sherwin Gatchalian

5. Chiz Escudero

6. Mark Villar

7. Alan Peter Cayetano

8. Juan Miguel Zubiri

9. Joel Villanueva

10. JV Estrada Ejercito

11. Risa Hontiveros

12. Jinggoy Estrada

Padilla topped the race after garnering over 26.6 million votes, followed by Legarda and Tulfo, who got more than 24 million and 23 million votes, respectively.

The four reelectionsists, five returning senators, and three first-timers will form half of the Senate in the upcoming 19th Congress, joining the 12 incumbent lawmakers elected in 2019.

Senators thank supporters, lay down plans

The newly-proclaimed officials all thanked their supporters and loved ones, crediting them for their victory in the polls.

Padilla and Tulfo— both first-time senators— vowed to get straight to work once they step foot in the chamber.

The action star stressed he will push for Constitutional reform to address long-standing problems in the country.

RELATED: Padilla taps Panelo in first Senate foray, push for charter change

Tulfo, on the other hand, said he would work double time to prove he deserves a spot in the top 12. "I won't let you down," he told supporters.

The proclamation of the winning senators was held at the PICC Forum Tent in Pasay City.

Meanwhile, the proclamation of partial winners of the party-list race slated for May 19 was postponed by Comelec.

Commissioner George Garcia said, aside from the special elections in Lanao del Sur which might affect the party-list rankings, petitions were also filed before the poll body questioning the formula to be used to declare the winning groups.