Metro Manila, 7 provinces ease to Alert Level 2 from Feb. 1-15

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, January 30) — Restrictions will be eased in Metro Manila as the capital region is placed under Alert Level 2 from Feb. 1 to 15, acting Presidential Spokesperson Karlo Nograles announced on Sunday.

The Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases also de-escalated the provinces of Batanes, Bulacan, Cavite, Rizal, Biliran, Southern Leyte and Basilan to Alert Level 2, Nograles added.

Metro Manila was under the stricter Alert Level 3 for a month as COVID-19 cases spiked in late December due to the spread of the highly transmissible Omicron variant.

The Department of Health earlier said the surge in Metro Manila peaked in mid-January. As of Friday, the capital region was classified as "moderate risk" for COVID-19.

Under Alert Level 2, establishments are allowed to operate at 50% to 70% capacity, depending on whether their operations are indoors or outdoors.

Bars, karaoke places, clubs, concert halls and theaters, and other venues with live voice or wind-instrument performers may operate up to 50% indoor venue capacity for fully vaccinated individuals, and up to 70% outdoor venue capacity, regardless of vaccination status. All staff must be fully inoculated.

The same conditions apply to funfairs, as well as playgrounds, playrooms, and kiddie rides.

Casinos, horse racing, cockfighting, cockpits, lotteries, betting shops, and other gaming establishments remain banned under Alert Level 2.

The "no vaccination, no ride" policy prohibiting unvaccinated individuals from using public transportation will also be suspended as Metro Manila shifts from Alert Level 3 to Alert Level 2.

RELATED: No vax, no ride policy not applicable in NCR under Alert Level 2

Alert Level 3 up in more areas

Meanwhile, the following cities and provinces will shift to Alert Level 3 effective Tuesday amid rising COVID-19 cases:

Cordillera Administrative Region



-Baguio City



-Mountain Province

Ilocos Region

-Dagupan City

-Ilocos Norte

-Ilocos Sur

-La Union


Cagayan Valley

-City of Santiago



-Nueva Vizcaya


Central Luzon

-Angeles City



-Nueva Ecija

-Olongapo City







-Lucena City

-Quezon Province




-Occidental Mindoro

-Oriental Mindoro

-Puerto Princesa City

Bicol Region


-Camarines Norte

-Camarines Sur



-Naga City


Western Visayas



-Bacolod City


-Iloilo City


-Negros Occidental


Central Visayas

-Cebu City

-Lapu-Lapu City

-Mandaue City



-Negros Oriental


Eastern Visayas

-Ormoc City

-Tacloban City

-Eastern Samar


-Northern Samar

-Western Samar

Zamboanga Peninsula

-City of Isabela

-Zamboanga City

-Zamboanga del Sur

-Zamboanga del Norte

-Zamboanga Sibugay

Northern Mindanao


-Cagayan de Oro City

-Iligan City

-Lanao del Norte

-Misamis Occidental

-Misamis Oriental

Davao Region

-Davao City

-Davao del Sur

-Davao del Norte

-Davao Oriental

-Davao de Oro


-General Santos City

-North Cotabato


-South Cotabato

-Sultan Kudarat


-Surigao del Norte

-Surigao del Sur

-Agusan del Norte

-Agusan del Sur

-Butuan City



-Cotabato City

-Lanao del Sur

The restriction takes effect until Feb. 15, unless extended or earlier lifted by the government.

Nograles said the alert level for Ifugao is still pending approval by the IATF. It is expected to be announced on Jan. 31.

CNN Philippines' Currie Cator contributed to this report.