28 more areas placed under stricter Alert Level 3

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, January 12) – Another 28 areas in the country will be elevated to Alert Level 3 for around two weeks in a bid to curb the worsening spread of COVID-19, Malacañang announced on Wednesday.

Cabinet Secretary and acting presidential spokesperson Karlo Nograles said the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases decided to place more provinces and cities under the heightened classification from Jan. 14 to 31.

Tighter restrictions will be enforced in these areas:


- Benguet

- Kalinga


- La Union

- Ilocos Norte

- Pangasinan

- Nueva Vizcaya

- Isabela

- Quirino

- Nueva Ecija

- Tarlac

- Quezon province

- Occidental Mindoro

- Oriental Mindoro

- Camarines Sur

- Albay


- Bacolod City

- Aklan

- Capiz

- Antique

- Cebu City

- Mandaue City

- Tacloban City


- Cagayan de Oro City

- Davao City

- Butuan City

- Agusan del Sur

- Cotabato City

Nograles said all other localities not mentioned will retain their current alert status.

The IATF earlier escalated Metro Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Rizal, and Laguna to the Alert Level 3 classification. It then placed 14 more areas under the stricter status until Jan. 15.

Under Alert Level 3, activities like face-to-face classes, contact sports, funfairs, as well as live voice and wind instrument events are prohibited.

Intrazonal and interzonal travel will be allowed, subject to restrictions imposed by local governments. Operations of select establishments and tourist attractions will also be scaled down to 30% indoor and 50% outdoor venue capacity.

On Wednesday, the Philippines logged 32,246 new COVID-19 infections, its second highest daily count - bringing the active case tally to an all-time high of over 208,000.