LP bares initial senatorial lineup for 2022 polls

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, September 28) — The Liberal Party (LP) on Tuesday bared its initial lineup of senatorial candidates for next year's polls, with familiar names seeking reelection.

In a statement, the LP nominated incumbent senators Francis Pangilinan and Leila De Lima, and former senator Bam Aquino during its virtual National Executive Council meeting.

The party also passed a resolution endorsing Senator Risa Hontiveros from Akbayan and human rights lawyer Chel Diokno as guest candidates.

Pangilinan, De Lima, and Hontiveros earlier announced their plans for reelection in 2022. Diokno, on the other hand, will try his luck again after losing in the 2019 midterm elections.

Meanwhile, Aquino has yet to announce his plans for next year's polls.

Also during the meeting, the LP passed a resolution granting Vice President Leni Robredo full authority to initiate talks and create a united national slate of candidates for president, vice president, and senators.

Robredo has called for a united opposition to challenge administration bets next year. She also said she is open to running for the highest post in the land if chosen by a unity ticket.