Metro Manila extends curfew hours under ECQ starting Aug. 6

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, August 2) - Metro Manila will enforce longer curfew hours from 8 p.m. to 4 a.m. when the capital region shifts to enhanced community quarantine on Friday.

In a press briefing on Monday, Metropolitan Manila Development Authority chairperson Benhur Abalos said Metro Manila mayors came to a unanimous decision on the new curfew hours.

Metro Manila will remain under general community quarantine with "heightened and additional" restrictions until Aug. 5. It will shift to ECQ, strictest status, on Aug. 6 to 20 due to the threat of rising COVID-19 cases fueled by the Delta variant.

Curfew hours in Metro Manila are currently from 10 p.m. to 4 a.m.

Meanwhile, Abalos said imposing a liquor ban will be up to the discretion of local government units.

“Sa nakikita namin, ang Valenzuela, Mandaluyong, Parañaque, Pasay, Navotas, Pateros, Quezon City, at San Juan, may mga liquor ban,” he said.

[From what we know, the cities of Valenzuela, Mandaluyong, Parañaque, Pasay, Navotas, Quezon City, and San Juan have a liquor ban.]

He added that the cities of Taguig, Pasig, and Las Piñas do not have a liquor ban.