NCR, other areas ease to regular GCQ until July 31

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, July 15) — Metro Manila will ease some restrictions as it shifts to the regular general community quarantine until the end of the month along with Bulacan, Cavite and Rizal, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque announced Thursday.

Metro Manila, Bulacan, and Rizal were under GCQ with “some restrictions” prior the new classification, while Cavite used to be under GCQ with "heightened restrictions."

The announcement comes days after the Health Department flagged an uptick in new cases among seven cities in the National Capital Region. 

The OCTA Research Group likewise recommended retaining NCR under GCQ until the end of the month, citing the need to strengthen the enforcement and monitoring of health protocols given the threats posed by the more transmissible Delta coronavirus variant.

Laguna, meanwhile, will remain under GCQ with “heightened restrictions” until the end of the month. Lucena City, Naga City, Negros Oriental, Zamboanga del Sur and Davao City will also be under this classification until July 31.

Aklan, Bacolod City, Antique, and Capiz will likewise be placed under GCQ with “heightened restrictions” but only until July 22.

These areas will be placed under GCQ until the end of the month:

- Cordillera Administrative Region: Baguio City, Apayao

- Region 4-A: Batangas, Quezon

- Region 4-B: Puerto Princesa

- Region 6: Guimaras, Negros Occidental

- Region 9: Zamboanga Sibugay, City of Zamboanga, Zamboanga del Norte

- Region 11: Davao Oriental

- Region 12: General Santos City, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, Cotabato and South Cotabato

- CARAGA: Agusan del Norte, Surigao del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Sur

- BARMM: Cotabato City

Meanwhile, the following places will be under modified enhanced community quarantine until July 31:

- Region 3: Bataan

- Region 6: Iloilo City, Iloilo Province (until July 22)

- Region 10: Cagayan de Oro City

- Region 11: Davao Occidental, Davao de Oro, Davao del Sur, Davao del Norte

- CARAGA: Butuan City

The rest of the country will be under modified GCQ until end-July.