Duterte signs law splitting Maguindanao into two provinces

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, May 27) — President Rodrigo Duterte has signed into law the bill dividing Maguindanao into two provinces.

The country will now have two new provinces under Republic Act No. 1150, namely Maguindanao del Norte and Maguindanao del Sur.

Maguindanao del Norte will be composed of the following municipalities: Barira, Buldon, Datu Blah Sinsuat, Datu Odin Sinsuat (capital and seat of government), Kabuntalan, Matanog, Northern Kabuntalan, Parang, North Upi, Sultan Kudarat, Sultan Mastura, and Talitay.

On the other hand, municipalities in Maguindanao del Sur will be: Ampatuan, Buluan (capital and seat of government), Datu Abdulla Sangki, Datu Anggal Midtimbang, Datu Hoffer Ampatuan, Datu Montawal, Datu Paglas, Datu Piang, Datu Salibo, Datu Saudi Ampatuan, Datu Unsay, Gen. Salipada K. Pendatun, Guindulungan, Mamasapano, Mangudadatu, Pagalungan, Paglat, Pandag, Rajah Buayan, Sharif Aguak, Sharif Saydona Mustafa, Sultan sa Barongis, Talayan, and South Upi.

Each province will have its legislative district, which will take effect upon the election of its representative to be held on the second Monday of May 2022, the law read. Cotabato City shall also be part of the Lone Legislative District of the Province of Maguindanao del Norte, it added.

For their elective officials, both provinces shall have a governor and vice governor. They will also have a sangguniang panlalawigan, a legislative body of the province that "shall enact ordinances, approve resolutions, and appropriate funds for the general welfare of the province and its inhabitants."

The law also said the provinces shall be created upon the approval by the majority of votes by residents of affected areas in a plebiscite to be facilitated by the Commission on Elections within 90 days from its effectivity.