3 Supreme Court magistrates in the running for Chief Justice post

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10


Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, March 1)— Three Supreme Court magistrates are in the running to become the next Chief Justice.

In a message to reporters on Monday, SC spokesperson Brian Hosaka said Justices Estela Perlas-Bernabe, Alexander Gesmundo, and Ramon Paul Hernando have completed their application requirements for the coveted post.

Public interviews are set on March 10, according to Hosaka.

The successful applicant will take the reins from incumbent Chief Justice Diosdado Peralta, who is set to retire a year early and will bow out of the high court on March 27, 2021. Peralta, appointed as top magistrate in 2019, signified in December his intention to step down on his 69th birthday.

Perlas-Bernabe, who was also previously nominated for the Chief Justice post, was appointed to the tribunal in 2011.

Gesmundo was named as magistrate in 2017, and Hernando in 2018.