Duterte lessens non-working days for 2021

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, February 26) — President Rodrigo Duterte has amended the list of holidays for 2021, declaring fewer non-working days as part of efforts to spur economic recovery.

Under Proclamation No. 1107, signed on Friday, three previously declared special holidays are now special working days. These are Nov. 2 (All Souls’ Day), Dec. 24 (Christmas Eve), and Dec. 31 (New Year’s Eve).

“For the country to recover from the adverse impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, there is a need to encourage economic productivity by, among others, minimizing work disruption and commemorating some special holidays as special (working) days instead,” Duterte’s proclamation read.

The country plunged into recession after months of varying levels of community quarantine that forced businesses to close, displacing millions of workers. The government has been easing quarantine restrictions to reopen the economy.

Here are the remaining holidays for this year:

Regular holidays

April 1 – Maundy Thursday

April 2 – Good Friday

April 9 (Friday) – Araw ng Kagitingan

May 1 (Saturday) – Labor Day

June 12 (Saturday) – Independence Day

August 30 (Monday) – National Heroes Day

November 30 (Tuesday) – Bonifacio Day

December 25 (Saturday) – Christmas Day

December 30 (Thursday) – Rizal Day

Special non-working days

April 3 – Black Saturday

August 21 (Saturday) – Ninoy Aquino Day

November 1 (Monday) – All Saints’ Day

December 8 (Wednesday) – Feast of the Immaculate Conception of Mary