LIST: Countries under red, yellow, green travel restrictions

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10


Metro Manila (CNN Philippines) — Testing and quarantine protocols remain for travelers coming from certain countries amid the pandemic, but these vary by risk levels.

They are added to either the red, yellow, or green list. According to the Inter Agency Task Force, minors — regardless of their vaccination status and country of origin — will follow the testing and quarantine protocols of the parent or guardian traveling with them.

The government announced revised protocols for these countries on Jan. 14, among which include a shorter window for negative pre-departure RT-PCR test results. Tests taken 72 hours before departure will only be honored until Jan. 17, according to IATF Resolution No. 157.

Here are the IATF’s classifications for various countries effective until Jan. 31:


The latest resolution already allows travelers from or who have been to red list countries 14 days before arrival to enter the Philippines. This means returning Filipinos need not wait for Bayanihan flights to return home, according to acting presidential spokesperson Karlo Nograles.

Regardless of vaccination status, individuals are required to present negative RT-PCR test results taken 48 hours before their departure from country of origin.

However, children three years old and below shall be exempted from presenting a negative RT-PCR test result before boarding the flight, unless symptomatic.

Fully vaccinated travelers must also undergo facility-based quarantine and take another RT-PCR test on the 7th day. They may be discharged if the results come out negative, but they must complete the 14-day quarantine at home.

Meanwhile, unvaccinated and partially vaccinated passengers, and those whose vaccination status cannot be validated, shall undergo the mandatory 10-day facility-based quarantine. They will take an RT-PCR test on the 7th day and must observe home quarantine until the 14th day.

Travelers who merely transited a red-listed nation without leaving the airport or having been cleared for entry by immigration authorities will not be considered as a traveler from that country. But they will still be required to follow the protocols prescribed under their vaccination status.

Mozambique and Spain remain in red list until the end of January. Joining them from Jan. 16-31 are Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Canada, Curacao, French Guiana, Iceland, Malta, Mayotte, Puerto Rico, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, and U.S. Virgin Islands.


Travelers from green-listed countries — regardless of vaccination status — shall present a negative RT-PCR test taken 48 hours prior to departure from the country of origin.

Fully vaccinated travelers are no longer required to undergo facility-based quarantine, but they must self-monitor for any symptoms for seven days.

For the unvaccinated or partially vaccinated travelers, they must still undergo facility quarantine until the release of a negative test result on the 5th day. After that, they are enjoined to self-monitor for 14 days for any symptoms.

The countries under the Philippines' green list from Jan. 16 to 31 are:

- Bangladesh

- Benin

- Bhutan

- British Virgin Islands

- mainland China

- Cote d’ Ivoire (Ivory Coast)

- Djibouti

- Equatorial Guinea

- Falkland Islands (Malvinas)

- The Gambia

- Guinea

- Hong Kong

- India

- Indonesia

- Japan

- Kosovo

- Kyrgyzstan

- Liberia

- Montserrat

- Niger

- Oman

- Pakistan

- Paraguay

- Saba (Special municipality of the Kingdom of the Netherlands)

- Saint Barthelemy

- Sao Tome and Principe

- Senegal

- Sierra Leone

- Sint Eustatius

- Taiwan

- Timor-Leste (East Timor)

- Uganda


Regardless of vaccination status, travelers from yellow-listed countries must present a negative RT-PCR test result done within 48 hours prior to departure from their country of origin.

Fully vaccinated travelers will then undergo facility-based with an RT-PCR test done on the fifth day. After a negative result, they shall continue their quarantine up to the 7th day at home.

For the unvaccinated and partially vaccinated, and individuals whose vaccination status cannot be independently verified by Philippine authorities as valid and authentic, they shall go through facility-based quarantine and take an RT-PCR on the 7th day. They will also continue the 14-day quarantine at home once they test negative.

The government said all other countries, jurisdictions, and territories that were not mentioned in the previous lists shall be considered yellow-listed.

The IATF further explained that countries previously green-listed based on case and test metrics, but with local transmission of Omicron, will be reclassified as a yellow country.

Vaccination status

In lieu of a certification from the Philippine Overseas Labor Office, overseas Filipino workers and their family traveling with them, who were vaccinated abroad, may present their national digital/physical vaccination certificate from the country where they were inoculated.

Non-OFWs who were vaccinated overseas and foreigners inoculated in the Philippines can present either their VaxCertPH digital vaccination certificate, Bureau of Quarantine/World Health Organization-issued International Certificate of Vaccination, or a national/state certificate from the foreign country where they got their vaccine shots.

For foreigners vaccinated abroad, they can present their WHO-issued vaccine certificate or a national/state certificate from the foreign country where they were inoculated which has accepted VaxCertPH under a reciprocal arrangement.