Metro Manila stays under Alert Level 3 until Nov. 14

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, October 29) — Metro Manila stays under Alert Level 3 until Nov. 14, presidential spokesperson Harry Roque announced on Friday.

Although health experts noted improvements in new COVID-19 cases and hospital utilization rate, Roque said the Inter-Agency Task Force wanted to ease restrictions gradually to prevent infection spikes.

"Habang nagtataas tayo ng transportasyon, tataas ang mobility, inaasahan na posible din tumaas ang kaso ng COVID. Inuunti-unti natin ang pagbaba ng alert level system nang sa ganoon ay hindi naman biglang sumipa muli ang numero ng mga kaso ng COVID," he said in a media briefing.

[Translation: While we increase our transportation capacity, mobility will increase, and it may lead to increase in cases. We are gradually downgrading the alert level so we don't see a spike in new COVID-19 cases.]

The IATF also allowed public utility vehicles plying Metro Manila and nearby provinces to increase passenger capacity from 50% to 70% beginning Nov. 4. It will be gradually increased to full capacity.

The Department of Health on Friday said Metro Manila’s moderate risk level is not enough to merit a downgrade to Alert Level 2.

Health Undersecretary Maria Rosario Vergeire said Metro Manila's average daily attack rate needs to drop from 7.4 to 7 or lower before restrictions are further eased.

Under Alert Level 3, establishments are allowed up to 30% capacity as long as all customers are fully vaccinated, while 50% capacity is allowed in outdoor venues.

RELATED: What you need to know about the COVID-19 alert level system in NCR

Expansion of alert level system

The alert level system will be implemented in more areas nationwide from Nov. 1 to 14, the IATF said.

Alert Level 4: Aurora, Bacolod City, Negros Oriental, and Davao Occidental

Alert Level 3: Baguio City, Bataan, Cavite, Laguna, Rizal, Iloilo City, Siquijor, Lanao del Norte, Davao City, and Davao del Norte

Alert Level 2: Angeles City, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Olongapo City, Pampanga, Tarlac, Batangas, Quezon province, Lucena City, Aklan, Antique, Capiz, Guimaras, Iloilo, Negros Occidental, Bohol, Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City, Cebu Province, Bukidnon, Cagayan de Oro City, Camiguin, Iligan City, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Davao de Oro, Davao del Sur, and Davao Oriental

Community quarantine classification

A number of areas outside the alert level system were placed under different community quarantine classifications.

Mountain Province, Catanduanes, and Zamboanga City shall be under modified enhanced community quarantine from Nov. 1 to Nov. 15.

Abra, Cagayan, Isabela, City of Santiago, Nueva Vizcaya, and Quirino shall be placed under general community quarantine with heightened restrictions from Nov. 1 until Nov. 30.

Placed under general community quarantine for the whole month of November are Ifugao, Benguet, Apayao, Kalinga, Ilocos Sur, Dagupan City, Batanes, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Puerto Princesa, Palawan, Albay, Naga City, Camarines Norte, Tacloban City, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, General Santos City, Sarangani, North Cotabato, South Cotabato, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Butuan City, Dinagat Islands, Cotabato City, and Lanao del Sur.

All other areas not mentioned shall be placed under modified GCQ for the entire month.