12 modified provincial bus routes to open starting September 30 — LTFRB

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, September 26) — The Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB) has allowed the reopening of 12 bus routes in Regions 3 and 4A starting September 30.

The buses may resume operations under Memorandum Circular 2020-051 provided that they have an existing and valid Certificate of Public Convenience (CPC) or Application for Extension of Validity, and that every unit is registered in the Personal Passenger Insurance Policy.

The LTFRB said passengers still have to secure a travel authority pass in order to cross borders, and observe health protocols inside buses like wearing of face masks and face shields.

Here are the bus routes to be opened:

1. San Fernando, Pampanga - Araneta Center, Cubao, Quezon City

2. Batangas City, Batangas - Parañaque Integrated Terminal Exchange (PITx)

3. Lemery, Batangas - PITx

4. Lipa City, Batangas - PITx

5. Nasugbu, Batangas - PITx

6. Indang, Cavite - PITx

7. Mendez, Cavite - PITx

8. Tagaytay City, Cavite - PITx

9. Ternate, Cavite - PITx

10. Calamba City, Laguna - PITx

11. Siniloan, Laguna - PITx

12. Sta. Cruz, Laguna – PITx

Eating, drinking, use of mobile phones, and talking to other passengers will also not be allowed during the trip, according to the LTFRB.

Moreover, the agency advised passengers to get their tickets two days or earlier before their trip through an online facility or at the bus terminal.

“Ipinagbabawal ang pagbili ng trip ticket sa araw mismo ng pagbiyahe maliban na lang kung ito ay isang emergency tulad ng problema sa pamilya o sa kalusugan,” LTFRB said in a related statement.

[Translation: Buying tickets on the day of the trip is prohibited except if the trip involves a health or family emergency.]

According to the LTFRB circular, authorized bus units to and from Metro Manila and San Fernando City, Pampanga, will be rerouted through Mindanao Ave., Congressional Ave., Katipunan Ave., on the way to Araneta Center, Cubao, and all trips from Laguna, Cavite, and Batangas will end at Paranaque Integrated Terminal Exchange, or PITx.

All bus units and terminals will undergo monitoring and regular disinfection, LTFRB said.

“Ang mga ruta ay bunga ng komprehensibong pakikipag-ugnayan ng ahensya sa mga stakeholders, kabilang ang Local Government Units (LGU), terminal at bus operators.” the statement read.

[Translation: The routes were decided based on a comprehensive coordination with agencies and stakeholders including local government units, terminals, and bus operators.]

Provincial bus operators earlier appealed to the LTFRB to allow them to resume operations, while the agency met with local government units for their sentiments.