Metro Manila mayors agree on ‘unified’ curfew from 8 p.m. to 5 a.m.

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, August 19)— Local governments in Metro Manila will impose a “unified” curfew from 8 p.m. to 5 a.m, Malacañang said Wednesday as the capital region eased COVID-19 restrictions.

“I understand the mayors voted. There was a majority, that the curfew hours should be 8 (p.m.) to 5 (a.m.),” Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque told CNN Philippines’ The Source, citing a meeting with COVID-19 task force members the night before.

Roque, however, clarified in a briefing later in the day that three cities— Manila, Muntinlupa, and Pasig— will not be covered by the curfew hours on Wednesday night as the LGUs would still need to amend their ordinances to reflect the change in schedule.

Metro Manila— where a bulk of coronavirus infections in the country have been reported— as well as the neighboring regions of Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal were placed back to the more relaxed general community quarantine until the end of the month.

The said areas were put under a two-week modified lockdown earlier this month, following the medical community’s plea for a breather.

Despite the development, Roque maintained that tight health protocols will still be followed, with the GCQ implementation seen to be stricter.

The spokesperson stressed that quarantine passes will be required for residents in areas placed under granular lockdowns, or those covering a specific barangay or neighborhood.

He reiterated that mass gatherings— including religious services— will be limited to 10 persons for areas under GCQ.

Latest data from the Health Department showed that COVID-19 infections in the Philippines have spiked to nearly 170,000, the highest number of cases in Southeast Asia.