Cops guard checkpoints as community quarantine begins in Metro Manila

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, March 15) — Police officers began implementing checkpoints in the borders of Metro Manila on Sunday to comply with the start of community quarantine in a bid to curb the spread of coronavirus disease or COVID-19.

Shortly after midnight, dozens of security officers decked in their full uniform were positioned in the region's borders. With firearms in tow, the police carried thermal scanners to check if those who want to enter and exit Metro Manila are showing flu-like symptoms.

In Cainta, Rizal — adjacent to Pasig City — police officers and Department of Health personnel checked the temperatures of those who wish to exit Metro Manila on board private vehicles, public utility vehicles, and motorcycles.

Social distancing must also be observed in private and public utility vehicles, the Transportation Department said. Metro Manila Police Chief Debold Sinas said a bus with 50-persons capacity, should only carry 25 passengers who are seated one-seat apart.  

The Interior Department asked the public to report police officers in 56 checkpoints who abuse their power.

“We assure the public that our police officers manning the checkpoints will follow all laws and regulations in enforcing the community quarantine. If there are abuses, please report that to DILG and we will act on it immediately,” Secretary Eduardo Año said in a statement.

Land, local air, local sea travel to and from Metro Manila shall be restricted with the imposition of community quarantine, but workers will be "provisionally allowed" to enter and leave the region, once they present proof of employment or business at border checkpoints.

Those leaving for abroad will also be allowed to enter Metro Manila, where the Ninoy Aquino International Airport is located, but they have to present proof that they have a flight scheduled for the next 12 hours.

Movement of cargoes to and from Metro Manila will continue, to ensure that the supply of food and basic necessities remains unhampered.

Under the memorandum on social distancing and other measures to manage the coronavirus disease or COVID-19 outbreak, the following activities and events are banned from March 15 to April 14:

- movie screenings, concerts, sporting events and other entertainment activities

- community assemblies

- non-essential work-related gatherings

Malacañang finally released these guidelines on Saturday — mere hours before the implementation of the Metro Manila quarantine — in a bid to answer the questions raised following President Rodrigo Duterte's announcement of a 30-day quarantine of the National Capital Region. The memorandum was signed by Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea by the order of the President.

Curfew will also be imposed in Metro Manila based on ordinances passed by the city and municipality executives. The city ordinances are expected to be released in the coming week.


The Metro Manila police have set up checkpoints in the following areas:

Northern Police District


-PCP4 AREA-Quirino Highway cor. Malaria Rd., Boundary of Caloocan and Bulacan

-PCP 3-Phase 7C dela Costa Homes Boundary of Caloocan and Musan, Bulacan

-PCP 3-Phase 9 Boundary of Evergreen Vill., Brgy. Gaya-Gaya, San Jose del Monte, Bulacan

-PCP 3-Phase 10 Caloocan and Bulacan Bridge

-PCP 6-Bankers Vill., Gate 3 Boundary of Caloocan and Meycauayan

-PCP 6-Sierra Nova Subd. 1 Boundary of Caloocan and Meycauayan

-PCP 6 Sierra Nova Subd. 2 Boundary of Caloocan and Meycauayan

-PCP 6-Sierra Nova Subd. 3 Boundary of Caloocan and Meycauayan

-PCP 6-Gubat Sa Ciudad Boundary of Caloocan and Meycauayan

-PCP 6-Shelterville, Brgy. 171 Boundary of Caloocan and Meycauayan


-Don Basilio Blvd., Brgy. Dampalit, Malabon

-Panghulo Rd., Malabon


-NLEX (Entrance)

-McArthur Highway, Malanday Boundary of Valenzuela and Meycauayan (Exit)


-Punturin Boundary of Libtong, Meycauayan (Primary)

-NLEX Harborlink (Mindanao Ave MM Exit)

-Lawang Bato Emergency Exit to NLEX

-Viente Reales Skyline Exit 10 Meycauayan, Bulacan

-Viente Reales Tugatog Exit to Meycauayan, Bulacan

-Lingunan Ciudad Grande Exit to Meycauayan

-NLEX Linguhan Exit Going to Valenzuela

-Lawang Bato NLEX

-Overpass near Memorial Gardens

-NLEX Paso De Blas Entrance

-Wawang Pulo Boundary of Obando, Bulacan

Southern Police District


-Susana Heights


-Tunasan-San Pedro Boundary, Brgy. Tunasan, Muntinlupa City

-Tunasan-Cuyab Boundary, Arandia St., Brgy. Tunasan, Muntinlupa City

-In front of Parce Bello, Victoria Homes, Brgy. Tunasan, Muntinlupa City

-Biazon Rd., cor. MCX Rd., Brgy. Poblacion, Muntinlupa City

-SLEX Tollgate Exit (Westbound), East Service Road, Brgy. Alabang Viaduct, Muntinlupa City.

-Sucat-Taguig Boundary, Dr. A. Bunyi St., Brgy. Sucat, Major J. Posadas Ave. cor. West Service Road, Brgy. Sucat, Muntinlupa City

-In front of Total Gas Station, Don Jesus Blvd. cor. West Service Rd., Brgy. Cupang, Muntinlupa City

-Muntinlupa-Las Piñas Boundary, Alabang-Zapote Rd., Brgy. Cupang, Muntinlupa City

-In front of Police Outpost, along Investment Drive cor. Commerce Ave., Brgy. Ayala Alabang, Muntinlupa City


-Roxas Blvd. near footbridge Brgy. Baclaran

-Airport Rd. in front of UCPB Brgy. Baclaran

-Bradco Ave. cor. Diokno Ave., Brgy. Tambo

-NAIA Ave., near Pascor Drive, Brgy. Sto. Niño

-Pacific Ave. cor. Macapagal Blvd., Brgy. Don Galo

-C5 Rd. cor. Kaingin Rd.

-Quirino Ave., cor. Victor Medina, Brgy. San Dionisio

-C5 Rd. boundary of Las Piñas and Parañaque

-Canaycay Ave., in front of Caltex Brgy. San Dionisio

-Sucat Interchange

-Doña Soledad Ave., near Skyway Entrance/Exit

-West Service Rd. cor. Marcelo Ave., Marcelo Green

-West Service Rd. in front of Robinsons, Brgy. Merville

-PNR Bicutan Interchange


-Roxas Blvd. cor. Mia Road

-Macapagal Blvd. cor. Pacific Ave.


-Daang Hari

-Zapote Rd.


-Along C5 Rd. Extension, Manuyo Uno, Las Piñas City

(Las Piñas City and Parañaque Boundary)

-Along Padre Diego Cera Ave.. Manuyo Uno, Las Piñas City

-Zapote Viaduct, Brgy. Zapote, Las Piñas City

-Along Canaycay Ave., Manuyo Dos, Las Piñas City

-Riverdrive, BFRV Brgy. Talon Dos, Las Piñas City

-Marcos Alvarez Ave., Talon Singko, Las Piñas City

Eastern Police District


-Makabayan St., cor. JP Rizal, Brgy. Nangka

-Pambili St., cor. Marcos Highway (U-Turn) Brgy. San Roque

-Armscor Ave. cor. Sampaguita St., Fortune (To San Mateo)

-delos Santos Ave., Monterey Hills, Fortune (To San Mateo)

-Lilac St., cor. Olive St., Concepcion Dos (To Antipolo)

-Olive Ext. Footbridge, Concepcion Dos (To Antipolo)

-Sumulong Hi-way cor. Katipunan Access Road, Sto. Niño (To Antipolo)

-Marcos Highway in front of Buenaviaje Bldg., Brgy San Roque

-San Miguel PH 3, Brgy. Fortune

-Champaca St. cor. Ponteverde Drive, Brgy. Concepcion Dos

-Panorama St. cor. Waco St., Brgy. Concepcion Dos

-Panorama St. cor. Ignatius St., Brgy. Concepcion Dos

-Katipunan St. cor. Tangerine St., Concepcion Dos

-Chestnut St. cor. Gospel St., Brgy. San Roque

-East Bank Rd., Brgy. Sta Lucia (To Taytay)

-Ortigas Ave. Ext., Brgy. Sta. Lucia ( To Antipolo/Taytay)


-Kaginhawaan St., Cor. Lexi Ave., Manggahan

- Green Park Gate Felix Ave., Brgy. Dela Paz

- Greenwood Ave., Pinagbuhatan

- R. Thadeus St., MRV, Sta Lucia

- West Bank Road, Brgy. Maybunga (To Taytay)

- A. Sandoval Cor. Eusebio Ave., Brgy. Pinagbuhatan (To Taytay)

-Eusebio Ave Cor. C6 Road Brgy. Pinagbuhatan (To Taytay)

- Tramo Road, Sta. Lucia

Quezon City Police District

-Payatas Rd.

-Rodriguez Rizal Boundary

-San Mateo Rd.