Survey: Sara Duterte tops Filipino voters' early pick for President, VP in 2022

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, December 31) — A new poll released by Pulse Asia shows Filipino voters would like to see Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte run for either president or vice president in the 2022 elections.

Pulse Asia Research's November 2020 Ulat ng Bayan national survey showed 26% of the 2,400 respondents polled nationwide said they would vote for Mayor Duterte should the elections be held today.

The numbers were highest in Mindanao (58%) and lowest in Balance Luzon (12%). The National Capital Region registered 16%.

Former Senator Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos Jr., Senator Grace Poe, Manila Mayor Francisco "Isko Moreno" Domagoso, and Senator Manny Pacquiao rounded out the top five choices.

Vice President Leni Robredo was the sixth top choice for president.

"On the other hand, 4% of Filipino adults still do not know whom they would elect as president/refuse to identify their preferred presidential bet/are not voting for anyone as president," said the pollster.

However, when people were asked who they would vote for vice president if the elections were held now, Domagoso was top of mind nationwide (17%).

This was followed by Duterte, Senate President Tito Sotto, Sorsogon Governor Francis Escudero, Marcos, and Pacquiao.

Senator Bong Go made it to sixth place.

Pulse Asia also said 58% of Filipinos have chosen their senatorial candidates for the May 2022 polls with most of the probable winners either incumbent or former members of Congress.

"Out of 49 probable senatorial bets, 16 have a statistical chance of winning if the elections coincided with the conduct of survey interviews," it said.

The names that made the list of 16 are Pacquiao, media personality Raffy Tulfo, Duterte, Domagoso, Escudero, Rep. Alan Peter Cayetano, Rep. Loren Legarda, Marcos, Sen. Ping Lacson, Sen. Juan Miguel Zubiri, Sen. Sherwin Garchalian, former Senator Jinggoy Estrada, Sen. Francis Pangilinan, Sen. Risa Hontiveros, Sen. Richard Gordon, and Public Works Secretary Mark Villar.