ECCP hosts second installment of the Europa Awards on Sustainability

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Photo from the European Chamber of Commerce of the Philippines (ECCP)

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines) — As an acknowledgment of the urgency for sustainability and in line with the European Commission's efforts on the European Green Deal, the European Chamber of Commerce of the Philippines (ECCP) conducted its annual flagship event the Europa Awards last June 23, 2022 via Zoom.

Now in its second year, the Europa Awards recognizes companies with exceptional performance and contributions in promoting sustainability. This year's winners and finalists per awards category are:

Category: Clean and Green Energy Award

Winner: Vivant Foundation, Inc.

Finalists: Citicore Renewable Energy Corp.; Globe Telecom

Category: Energy Efficiency and Conservation Award

Winner: Mondelez Philippines

Finalists: Citicore Renewable Energy Corp.; Coca-Cola Beverages Philippines Inc

Category: Green and Inclusive Finance Solutions Award

Winner: ENGIE Services Philippines

Finalists: Land Bank of the Philippines; Pru Life UK

Category: Green Buildings Award

Winner: Union Bank of the Philippines

Finalists: Globe Telecom; Pilipinas Shell Petroleum Corporation

Category: Green Workforce Award

Winner: Aboitiz Equity Ventures, Inc.

Finalists: Ascott Makati; Ikano Philippines Inc. (IKEA)

Category: Smart and Safer Mobility Award

Winner: Pilipinas Shell Petroleum Corporation

Finalists: Aboitiz Equity Ventures, Inc.; In1Go Technologies

Category: Startup for Sustainability 2022 Award

Winner: Ampersand Design Think Lab Corp

Finalists: Verne Energy Solutions; Sustainability Standards

Category: Sustainable Agri-food Award

Winner: Nestle Philippines, Inc.

Finalists: Century Pacific Food, Inc.; Ikano Philippines Inc. (IKEA)

Category: Waste Management Award

Winner: Unilever Philippines

Finalists: Coca-Cola Beverages Philippines Inc; Kuehne + Nagel, Inc.; Laguna Water Corporation; Shell Business Operations Manila

Category: Water Resource Management Award

Winner: Alternative Indigenous Development Foundation, Inc. (AIDFI)

Finalists: Maynilad Water Services, Inc.; NXTLVL Water Technology Inc.

Winners in each category received a trophy designed by designers Rita Nazareno and Gabriel Lichauco of Nazareno/Lichauco for ZACARIAS 1925, who once again served as trophy sponsors for this year's Awards Event. The Special Award: Start-up for Sustainability 2022 category was co-presented by Procter & Gamble, while the Smart and Safer Mobility category and the Green Workforce category were co-presented by JTI Philippines and Emeritus, respectively.

"Following the successful launch of the ECCP Europa Awards last year, we are delighted to see sustained, and even increased, support and interest from our members and even non-members. For this year, we have expanded the awards category from six to ten. We're happy to note that since we opened the nominations in mid-February until the end of April, we received about 85 initial entries, higher than what we received last year. Likewise, we are delighted and grateful to have the support of our exceptional panel of judges once again to help us review the merits of these entries throughout the process," ECCP President Lars Wittig said.

Mr. Wittig also thanked SGV & Co., the Official Tabulator for the Europa Awards. The firm also tabulated the scores and rankings of the finalists and winners of the awards.

Mr. Wittig added, "The number of entries we received demonstrates the growing commitment of the business community to adopt sustainable business practices in their core operations and strategies." He further shared that the Chamber hopes "that the Europa Awards will serve as an instrument to promote and strengthen stakeholders' commitment and efforts in light of the urgency of sustainability."

The technical judges include Jean-Marc Arbogast, Country Manager of International Finance Corporation Philippines; Khalid Hassen, Country Director of International Labour Organization Philippines; Angelo Tan, Country Lead for the Philippines of the Climate Business Department - International Finance Corporation; Atty. Jose Layug Jr., President of Developers of Renewable Energy for AdvanceMent, Inc; Dr. Alma Bella Madrazo, PhD of the University of the Philippines; Dr. Jose Bienvenido Manuel Biona, Executive Dean of the De La Salle University Enrique K. Razon Jr. Logistics Institute; Roderick De Castro, Executive Director of Business for Sustainable Development; Cherrie Atilano, President and Founding Farmer of AGREA Agricultural Systems International, Inc.; Christopher Ilagan, Chairperson of Philippine Water Partnership; and Rene "Butch" Melly, President of QBO Innovation Hub.

Ambassador Luc Véron of the Delegation of the European Union to the Philippines once again sat as a final judge along with Ms. Ma. Victoria Tan, Chairperson of the United Nations - Global Compact Network Philippines.

During the online event, the ECCP also launched the second edition of its Sustainability Whitebook containing the Chamber's policy recommendations on 10 thematic areas of mobility, energy efficiency, clean energy, waste management, agriculture, finance, green buildings, green workforce, sustainability for start-ups, and water management, including how these policy advocacies are in line with the Sustainable Development Goals and the Philippine Development Plan.

Just like last year, the organizers also released a special edition of the EuroPH Connect membership magazine featuring in-depth accounts of the winners' entries. Judges and some event partners also contributed articles on thought leadership, success stories, and best practices on sustainability. All publications related to the Europa Awards can be accessed by visiting

The event partners of the Europa Awards are Procter & Gamble, JTI Philippines, and Emeritus. It is also supported by its Platinum Sponsor Robert Bosch Inc., and Gold Sponsors namely Vivant Corporation, Movenpick Resort & Spa Boracay, Royal Cargo, Nestle Philippines, Pilipinas Shell Petroleum Corporation, and Hearn & Hearn Consulting. Its Silver Sponsors are Manila Water Company, Grab, Citicore Renewable Energy Corp., and LeeChiu Property Consultants.

The official media partner for this year's Europa Awards is CNN Philippines. The Europa Awards also received support from its Sustainability Partners: Austrian Embassy Manila, the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany Manila, the Embassy of Finland Manila, the Embassy of Sweden Manila, and Royal Danish Embassy Manila.

Various organizations also expressed support as endorsing partners, which include the Airline Operators Council, Business for Sustainable Development, Developers of Renewable Energy for AdvanceMent Inc., Philippine Alliance for Recycling & Material Sustainability, Philippine Energy Efficiency Alliance, Philippines Partnership for Sustainable Agriculture, and Philippine Water Partnership.

For more information on the ECCP, visit and follow their official Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube pages.