Residents vote to split Brgy. Muzon in Bulacan into 4

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, March 25) — Registered voters of Brgy. Muzon in San Jose del Monte, Bulacan said yes to splitting their village into four in a plebiscite on Saturday.

The final and official count of the Commission on Elections (Comelec) showed 12,324 voted yes while 969 voted no.

Comelec said only 13,322 out of the 43,771 registered voters trooped to four polling centers for a 30.44% turnout.

The plebiscite ratified Republic Act 11896, which lapsed into law in July 2022. It sought the division of Brgy. Muzon into four separate, independent villages: Muzon Proper, Muzon East, Muzon West, and Muzon South.

Brgy. Muzon is the city's most populous village — with a population of 127,506 as of 2020.

Bulacan Rep. Florida Robes, who authored the bill, said this would improve the delivery of basic social services and help in managing available resources.