DepEd releases list of schools for MATATAG K-10 curriculum pilot test

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10


Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, September 17) — The Department of Education (DepEd) on Sunday released the list of schools chosen to pilot test the MATATAG K-10 curriculum, which decongested the current curriculum by reducing the number of learning areas and focusing on foundational skills.

The 35 schools are in the Cordillera Administrative Region, Metro Manila, Ilocos Region, Cagayan Valley, Central Visayas, Soccsksargen, and Caraga.

The agency said the pilot run on the new curriculum would begin on Sept. 25.

The DepEd introduced the MATATAG K-10 curriculum, which reduced the competencies that students need to master, following a two-year study. Around 70% of the current curriculum was cut, with learning competencies down to around 3,600 from over 11,000 to give more time to foundational skills for a better learning outcome.

The learning areas in the early levels were also cut from seven to five to include Language, Reading and Literacy, Math, Makabansa, and Good Manners and Right Conduct.

The MATATAG curriculum was supposed to be implemented starting school year 2023–2024, but it was delayed as the pilot areas were not immediately finalized.

The phased implementation will cover Kindergarten and Grades 1, 4, and 7 for the current school year.

Here is the full list of schools included in the pilot implementation:

Cordillera Administrative Region


Calafug Elementary School

Baguio City

Rizal Elementary School

Dona Aurora National High School


Lam-ayan Integrated School

Bineng National High School

National Capital Region

Malabon City

Damapalit Integrated School

Santiago Syjuco Memorial School

Muzon Elementary School

Tinajeros National High School

Santiago Syjuco Memorial Integrated Secondary School

Ilocos region

La Union

Cabaruan Integrated School

Caba Elementary School

Acao Elementary School

Casacristo National High School

Don Rufino Olarte Memorial National High School

Cagayan Valley

Cauayan City

Cauayan North Central School


Dingading Integrated School

Villa Teresita Primary School

Lanna National High School

Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo National High School

Central Visayas


Tindog Integrated School

San Fernando North Central Elementary School

Tabogon Central Elementary School

Dumanjug National High School

Liloan National High School


North Cotabato

Mlang Pilot Elementary School


Lamlifew Integrated School

Alegria Central Elementary School

Malalag National High School-Upo Annex

Alegria National High School


City of Butuan

Baobaoan Integrated School

Pedro D. Duncano National High School

Surigao Del Norte

Suyangan Elementary School

Socorro National High School

Agusan Del Norte

Santiago Central Elementary School