Dry run for contactless toll payments to begin Sept. 1

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, August 16) — Operators of expressways will begin conducting a two-month dry run for contactless collections on selected toll plazas starting Sept. 1, the Toll Regulatory Board (TRB) said Tuesday.

In a statement, the TRB said the dry run seeks to determine the operators' readiness for the re-implementation of the program, which was previously halted due to issues such as glitches in the system.

Qualified toll plazas include those under North Luzon Expressway, Subic Clark Tarlac Expressway, Cavite-Laguna Expressway, Manila-Cavite Toll Expressway-C5 Southlink, NAIA Expressway, South Metro Manila Skyway (Stages 1 and 2), South Luzon Expressway, Muntinlupa-Cavite Expressway, Metro Manila Skyway Stage 3, Tarlac-Pangasinan-La Union Expressway, and STAR Tollway.

"As agreed between TRB and the Toll Concessionaires and Operators, a first batch of qualified toll plazas will initially form part of the dry-run to ensure a smooth and efficient implementation. Other qualified toll plazas will gradually be included during the dry-run period," the regulator said.

According to the TRB, it evaluated a total of 717 out of 852 operated toll lanes. The remaining 135 are still being operated as cash lanes, it added.