Metro Manila, 38 other areas will ease to Alert Level 1 from March 1-15

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, February 27) — Metro Manila and 38 other areas in the country will ease to Alert Level 1 from March 1-15, presidential spokesperson Karlo Nograles announced on Sunday.

This is the first time that Metro Manila was placed under the lowest alert level status since the COVID-19 alert level system was first implemented by the national government in the region last September.

The provinces of Cavite, Laguna and Bulacan will also shift to the lowest alert level.

Places in Luzon under Alert Level 1 in the first 15 days of March are: Abra, Apayao, Baguio City, Kalinga, Dagupan City, Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan, Batanes, Cagayan, City of Santiago, Isabela, Quirino, Angeles City, Aurora, Bataan, Olongapo City, Pampanga, Tarlac, Marinduque, Puerto Princesa City, Romblon, Naga City and Catanduanes.

Six areas in Visayas will also shift to the lowest alert level status: Aklan, Bacolod City, Capiz, Guimaras, Siquijor, and Biliran.

In Mindanao, four places will be under Alert Level 1 from March 1-15: Zamboanga City, Cagayan De Oro City, Davao City, and Camiguin.

In its recent resolution, the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases ordered that provinces and cities may ease to Alert Level 1 if they are at low to minimal risk classification, their total bed utilization rate is less than 50%, and 70% of its target population (or 80% of total population) and 80% of its target senior citizens are fully vaccinated.

The IATF also issued amended guidelines for Alert Level 1 areas.

EXPLAINER: What you need to know under Alert Level 1 

Establishments and activities in areas under Alert Level 1 are allowed to operate at full capacity in accordance with the minimum public health standards. This will not be applicable for areas under granular lockdown.

Meanwhile, here are areas in the country that will be under Alert Level 2 during the same period:

Luzon — Benguet, Ifugao, Mountain Province, Nueva Vizcaya, Nueva Ecija and Zambales, Batangas, Lucena City, Quezon Province, Rizal, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Palawan, Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Masbate, and Sorsogon

Visayas — Antique, Iloilo City, Iloilo Province, Negros Occidental, Negros Oriental, Bohol, Cebu Province, Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Ormoc City, Southern Leyte, Tacloban City, and Western Samar.

Mindanao — City of Isabela, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga Sibugay, Bukidnon, Iligan City, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Davao De Oro, Davao Del Sur, Davao Del Norte, Davao Oriental, Davao Occidental, General Santos City, North Cotabato, Sarangani, South Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Butuan City, Dinagat Islands, Basilan, Maguindanao, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Cotabato City and Lanao Del Sur.

Under Alert Level 2, movement of persons is allowed except for restrictions based on age and comorbidities, which should not be stricter than rules prescribed in an Alert Level 4 status.

Activities and establishments are allowed at a maximum of 50% capacity, with an additional 10% for those with Safety Seal Certifications.